Trojan Leaders in Academia

Look far, look wide, and perhaps you'll spot a former Trojan leading an engineering program at an esteemed institution

The USC Viterbi School of Engineering not only empowers the creative thinkers and innovators who help solve grand challenges; it prepares the leaders that educate and inspire the next generation of engineers.

As of July, nine former USC Viterbi students and faculty served as presidents or deans of engineering at some of the nation’s top colleges and universities.


Ayanna Howard, M.S. EE ’94, Ph.D. EE ’99
Dean of Engineering, Ohio State University

Lynden Archer, B.S. Chem. Eng. ’89
Dean of Engineering, Cornell University

Sharon Walker, B.S., Environ. Eng. ’98
Dean of Engineering, Drexel University

Arvin Agah, M.S. BME ’93, Ph.D. CS ’94
Dean of Engineering, University of Kansas



Former Faculty

Tom Katsouleas, President Emeritus, University of Connecticut
USC Viterbi faculty, 1991–2008

Richard Miller, President Emeritus, Olin College
USC Viterbi faculty, 1979–1992

Jean-Pierre Bardet, former Dean of Engineering, University of Miami
USC Viterbi faculty, 1983–2011

Elsa Garmire, former Dean of Engineering, Dartmouth College
USC Viterbi faculty, 1975–1995

Norberto Grzywacz, former provost, Loyola University Chicago
USC Viterbi faculty, 2001–2014