Class Notes

Parag Havaldar during the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Scientific and Technical Achievement Awards on February 11, 2017, in Beverly Hills, California.

Parag Havaldar, Ph.D. CS ’96, is a research and development lead at Blizzard Entertainment and adjunct USC Viterbi faculty, teaching multimedia systems. He received a 2017 Scientific and Technical Award from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for his work in “expressions capture and imaging” in film.

Fred Hadaegh, Ph.D. EE ’84, has been promoted to chief technologist at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory after years of supervising JPL’s Guidance and Control Analysis group. He has earned multiple awards for his service over the years, including NASA’s Exceptional Service and Exceptional Achievement medals.

Gregory Touhill, M.S. ’86, was appointed the first ever federal chief information security officer after working for two years as deputy assistant secretary for cybersecurity and communications in the Office of Cybersecurity and Communications at the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, among other prior official positions.

Harry (Webb) McKinney

B.S. EE ’68, M.S. EE ’69, recently retired as a corporate executive from Hewlett-Packard to write “Becoming Hewlett-Packard: Why Strategic Leadership Matters,” which shares lessons that tech giants like Apple, Google and Amazon and new companies alike can learn from HP. He also is involved in nonprofits including and ALearn.

Cenk Temizel

M.S. ’05, and his team took second place at a recent global R&D competition of the Society of Petroleum Engineers with their proposal, “Stimuli-Responsive Supramolecular Assemblies as Displacement Fluids in EOR.” Currently Temizel works as a reservoir engineer at Shell-ExxonMobil JV (Aera) in Bakersfield, California.

Tim Koprowski

M.S. ’81, retired after working as a hospital administrator in the U.S. Air Force and later as the CEO of Health-Ware Management, a software company that served the health care industry. He recently published “Managing Through the Entrepreneurial Fog,” which introduces his management philosophy that he calls “Play by the Rules.”

Kevin Wolley

’81, served in the U.S. Navy in the nuclear power field as reactor electrical division officer. After his discharge, Wolley served as headquarters operations officer for the U.S Nuclear Regulatory Commission. His first love was always flying, and his goal came true when he was hired to fly for FedEx, which he has now been with for 21-plus years.

Vasu Jain

M.S. ’13, has worked in the nonprofit field for more than two years. He was nominated by one of his nonprofit organizations to receive the President’s Volunteer Service Award for his efforts, and was awarded a Silver Award as well a congratulatory letter from the President of the United States.

Bruce Yep

’79, retired in May 2015 after 30 years with the Boeing Co. as an aerospace engineer. He also served over five years of active duty in the U.S. Navy Submarine Service.

Derek Hyde

’95, leads the product development and technology operations as CTO for in Minneapolis. He has over 20 years of management, IT consulting and software development experience in the insurance, research, industrial and government sectors. Hyde started his career as a consultant for the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, D.C.

Zhengming Yang

Ph.D. ’95, is the recipient of the 2016 Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award for Western North America Regional Sections of the Society of Petroleum Engineers. The SPE’s regional awards recognize members who have contributed exceptional service and leadership to the society, as well as those who have made major professional contributions to their technical disciplines at the regional level.

Sanjay Krishnan

M.S. ’98, currently works at Google on OS platforms, hardware and machine learning.

John (Nick) Skimas II

B.S. ’88, was recently promoted to senior manager of IT for North Region Infrastructure at Camas, Washington-based Georgia-Pacific. Skimas is responsible for the IT infrastructure at eight large pulp and paper mills.

Joseph Hower

M.S. ’95, serves as co-chair of the Los Angeles County Business Federation Energy, the Environment Committee and the BizFed Coalition. He is also vice president of FuturePorts.

Geraldine Knatz

M.S. ’77, a professor at the USC Price School of Public Policy and the Viterbi School of Engineering, is co-author of “Terminal Island: Lost Communities of Los Angeles Harbor.” On Sept. 17, 2016, she and her co-author, Naomi Hirahara, were honored with the Bruckman Award for Excellence in a Book about Los Angeles.

In Memoriam

Carl Froehlich

B.S. CEE ’74, M.S. CEE ’78, passed away unexpectedly on July 6, 2015, while vacationing with his family in the Galapagos Islands, Ecuador. He was 63. Froehlich was born in Hanford, California, and was the oldest child of Erwin and Magdalene Froehlich. He spent his formative years in nearby Corcoran, California, attending school and working for Gilkey Farms during summer and vacation breaks. While at Corcoran High School, Froehlich excelled in academics, football, and track and field, where he ran middle distance. He graduated high school in 1970 and was a recipient of a J.G. Boswell Scholarship, which allowed him to attend the University of Southern California, where he graduated with honors, receiving his bachelor’s degree in civil engineering in 1974 and a master’s degree in 1978.

We welcome your class notes at: